Department History

The University of Calabar grew out of the Calabar Campus of University of Nigeria, which began functioning during the 1973/74 academic session with 154 students and a small cadre of academic, administrative and professional staff in 1975. The Calabar Campus was transformed into a full-fledged University designated as the University of Calabar.

It began academic work with the Faculties of Arts, Science and Social Science in October, 1976 with an initial enrollment of 977 students. Education was then a department in the Faculty of Arts. At the beginning of the 1977/1978 academic year, the Department of Education was up-graded to Faculty of Education. Since then the Faculty of Education has been experiencing impressive growth. The Department of Vocational and Special Education came into being in October, 1997 through the splitting of the former Department of Curriculum and Teaching into two while the remaining part of the old Curriculum and Teaching still retains its name before the splitting. The Department of Vocational Education came into being in September 2014 following the creation of the Department of Special Education.

There are three academic programmes approved for the Department.

  1. B.Sc(Ed.) Agricultural Education
  2. B.Sc(Ed.) Business Education
  3. B.Sc(Ed.) Home Economics Education
  4. M.Sc(Ed.) Business Education
The Department is administratively structured into three (3) Units namely: Agricultural Education, Business Education and Home Economics Education. The Department is administered by the Head of Department with the Departmental Board as the highest decision making body. The Departmental Board is the general policy making body subject and is subject to the authority the Faculty Board and the Senate. It deals with all matters of general interest to students.

There are academic advisers/examination officers, one for each unit who attends to students' academic and personal problems. All matters are first discussed with the appropriate adviser. Students however have unrestricted access to the Head of Department. Matters for the consideration of Senate or the Vice-Chancellor are routed through the Head of Department and the Dean of Education.